top of page


On Sunday, the U.S. Department of Transportation issued an emergency declaration for 17 states and the District of Columbia in the wake of a cyberattack on the Colonial pipeline on Friday. The declaration permitted fuel to be transported by road to Alabama, Arkansas, the District of Columbia, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas and Virginia.

One expert told Politico the ransomware attack was Politico reported, “The attack on the Colonial Pipeline, which runs 5,500 miles and provides nearly half the gasoline, diesel and jet fuel used on the East Coast, most immediately affected some of the company’s business-side computer systems — not the systems that directly run the pipelines themselves. The Georgia-based company said it shut down the pipelines as a precaution and has engaged a third-party cybersecurity firm to investigate the incident.”

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

This Guy


bottom of page